If you use Facebook, then you will have seen these posts which end with “copy & paste, don’t share”.
Usually they relate to something that tugs at your heart strings, or it might be political or religious. You read the post and then see at the bottom the line “don’t share, copy and paste”.
If 5000 people share a hoax or fake news message by clicking Share, and for some reason that original message was removed (for example, deleted by Facebook for being fake!) then all those 5000 “shares” will vanish at the click of a mouse. If the original post being shared is removed, so do all of its shares.
The same doesn’t apply if you copy and paste a message, then post it. If 5000 people copy and paste a message to their own timeline, and the original gets removed, you still have 4999 instances of the message remaining on Facebook, since they are all separate posts, independent of each other.
Read more at oakwebdesign.com.au